ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Skilled worker supplementary work

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

AJ001
Newly Registered
Pakistan

Skilled worker supplementary work

Post by AJ001 » Mon Jul 01, 2024 9:42 am

Hi,

I am on a skilled worker visa whereas my wife is on a skilled worker dependant visa and is the director of a limited company in UK. Sometimes, I work as an employee for my wife's company (meeting the supplementary work requirements e.g., 20 hours, same job code, outside normal working hours).

My question is that my wife is my dependent and If I do paid work in her company, am I violating immigration rules or will it affect my ILR application in any extent?
Thanks

AJ001
Newly Registered
Pakistan

Re: Skilled worker supplementary work

Post by AJ001 » Tue Jul 02, 2024 8:42 pm

I understand that it's a little tricky question and supplementary work requirements do not stop me from working in the family company. I would appreciate your response. I can stop working in my wife's company if there is any breach or will cause an issue in the ILR application (due in June 2026).

Thanks

Frontier Mole
Respected Guru
European Union

Post by Frontier Mole » Wed Jul 03, 2024 2:17 pm

There is no issue working for your wife's company as the guidance allows you to do that as an employee.

The potentially questionable areas are -
is the role you are sponsored to undertake and that the role in your wife's company truly the same?
is the activity you are undertaking in your wife's company really just a way to hide under the radar of working as self employed?